Translation of the sūtras (quick overview)

This is a quick overview of the sutras I have translated so far:

The Yoga Sutras of Patañjali in Modern English

The purpose of Yoga (freedom from the body and mind allow union with Spirit)

1.1 Now you have reached a stage in your ongoing development as an eternal being where you are ready to learn the mystic practice of Yoga

1.2 Yoga is the rechanneling of the impressions and habits of the mind

1.3 Which results in the experiencer of the mind/body being free to be in his/her original form of pure consciousness

1.4 Otherwise you will identify with the habits of your mind.

The nature of the mind (a creature of habits-5 in particular)

1.5 The impressions and subsequent mental habits [vṛttis] of the mind are created five ways and can be uplifting or degrading

1.6 [These five vṛttis are] 1) evidence, 2) misperception, 3) imagination, 4) deep sleep, and 5) memories

1.7 You obtain material evidence  by 1) your senses, 2) through inference, or 3) from a reliable source

1.8 Misperception arises when you accept the unreal as real

1.9 Imagination is the use of words and images as faith

1.10 Sleep is the mental habit characterized by the absence of form

1.11 Memories are unforgotten sensory experiences

Overcoming the mind requires a new approach to practice

1.12 The [mind’s habits or influence (vṛttis)] are overcome by practice and by detachment for those things we cannot control

1.13 This practice and detachment requires a steady discipline

1.14 But that practice only becomes firmly established when it has been executed with great attention and without interruption over a long period of time

1.15 To be a detached yogi, consciousness must be controlled so that it is free from desire for any material object in this world, or the subtler- higher planes.

1.16 Greater than detachment from the material world is to lose all interest in the very fabric of our reality. This comes from experiencing the nature of Consciousness.

A hidden clue to what lies beyond this path of Raja Yoga

1.17 Samādhi begins with four states of focus or perception – gross matter, subtle matter, the soul’s aura, and the awareness that one is a soul

1.18 The practice of ceasing/terminating all material perceptions thus rendering the subconscious inert (mental impression can no longer act on you) leads to the Samadhi that isn’t Samadhi (asampranjata)

1.19 The disembodied and those submerged into subtle energy [are] still being processed


§ 3 Responses to Translation of the sūtras (quick overview)

  • Gauda says:

    Haribol Atma!
    Is the word “susamahitah” in the Yoga Sutras? If so, can you give the Atma translation and purport? Would much appreciate.
    Thank you.

    • Atma says:

      The word susamāhita is in the Mahābhārata and is described in various Upaniṣads, as well as the Śiva Sūtra. It means to be very intent or attentive, having the mind intently fixed or absorbed on a subject or object. It is the goal of all Bhaktas to be focused on Kṛṣṇa in a state of susamāhita. Susamāhitaḥ is the nominative case meaning, ‘someone who is in this state’.

      Think of susamāhita as the place where all states of mind come together and have only one thing as their point of focus. So, whether you are waking, dreaming, sleeping, or enlightened, you are always remembering your iṣṭa-devatā.

      • Gauda says:

        Thank you Atma!
        That is the perfect reply. I will use this in my class tomorrow SB 7.9.7. Refers to Prahlada Maharaj…
        You are the best!
        Thanks again,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: